10. J’s Apple Pie Babies

J and I don’t know each other very well – we know each other most through N, of lasagna cupcake fame. However! J always impressed me when we met during grad school with her work ethic, her sunny attitude, and her delight at the small things. Now that I work in higher ed, and she wants to work in higher ed, I feel a bond with her: when I saw her recently, I grabbed one of her textbooks and said “yes! This is what I’ve been wanting to read lately!” I don’t know if this makes me nerdy or makes us soul sisters, but either way, I was really excited when she said yes to my potluck.

Like N’s small, party-sized delights, the Apple Pie Minis were perfect: not just because they were smaller than any slice of pie, which meant I could fit them in my tummy with a bit of bread pudding and a peanut butter cookie.

From J:

Apple Pie Bites, Mini's, or Babies! 

Ingredients (Apple pie filling) 

2 apples
4 tbsn flour
1 tspn cinnamon
1/2 cup brown sugar
1 tbsn white sugar
1 -2 sleeve pie crust (I wish I had made these from scratch though...)

Optional crumb topping

1 tbsn flour
1 1/2 tbsn brown sugar
1-2 shakes of cinnamon
1 pat of butter 

Directions 

Preheat oven to 350F Wash, peel & dice apples In a bowl, combine diced apples with flour, sugar & cinnamon - mix well until the apples are well coated. Let this sit for a bit. In a different bowl combine the optional crumb topping mix together and allow it to be in crumbled form. This works best if the butter is chilled. Unroll pie crust & cut circles (I used a mug that would be big enough to fit inside the muffin tins) Place circle crust into the muffin tins and back in the oven for 2 minutes Take out pie crust & fill with apple filling using a large spoon. Be generous! Bake mini pies for ~12 minutes. 

This was my first time making these mini apple bites – I love all things apple but wanted to try this out. However, there are a few things that I would have done differently…. 

I probably would have put the apple pie filling on the stove to let it cook/meld together a little bit more to give it some juice before putting it in the pie crust There was quite a bit of apple filling left - I only used 1 sleeve of pie crust because I didn't feel like opening the other one and unsure how much more the filling would give - so I opened up a biscuit dough can that I had and just stuffed the apple pie filling in there. That was delicious!! (it was almost like mini apple pie empanadas) I also had extra crumb topping that I sprinkled on here. I already mentioned this, but I think the pie crust was a little bland for me - maybe sprinkling some brown sugar inside them or making a different pie crust out of graham crackers could have been cool. But I think using the pie crust gave it the traditional apple pie feel to it.

Leave a Reply

