12. D’s Triple Peanut Butter Cookies

D was a neighbor of Husband’s last year; she came over for dinner a lot and her family embodied what it really means to be good neighbors. Whenever she saw me, she would say “hey woman!” and then proceed to razz me for my lack of sports knowledge. It was very loving.

When I saw this recipe, I knew I would be excited for the real thing, but while in the grocery store, I chose butterscotch instead of peanut butter chips! Never fear: the cookies were still delicious and the crisco makes them fluffy and soft! I recommend them also for those who aren’t big into super-sweet cookies – these are super nutty and don’t overpower you with sugar.

Triple Peanut Butter Cookies

¾ cup peanut butter
½ cup crisco
1 ¼ cup brown sugar
3 tablespoon milk
1 tablespoon vanilla
1 egg
1 ¾ cup flour
¾ teaspoon salt
¾ teaspoon baking powder
1 cup peanut butter chips
1 cup reese’s pieces

Combine peanut butter, crisco, sugar, milk, and vanilla. Beat until blended. Add egg. Beat just until blended. Combine flour, salt, and baking soda. Mix until blended. Add peanut butter chips and candy – mix by hand. Drop by teaspoons onto ungreased cookie sheet. Bake at 375 for 8-10 minutes (9 minutes works in our oven). Makes approximately 4 dozen medium-sized cookies.

3 comments on “12. D’s Triple Peanut Butter Cookies

  1. Sarah says:

    Do you think using something other than Crisco would be okay?

    Like

    • I wonder; I prefer the flavor of butter and I’m sure there are much healthier oils, but knowing how much cookies depend on the fat for their texture, I didn’t try anything else. I will say these were thick and cakey and didn’t spread out much on the pan; if you try it with something else, let me know what happens!

      Like

Leave a Reply

