Recipe in a Bottle – Finally, a Name!

So, I won’t lie, I have been somewhat unhappy with the name of my blog since I started writing it. None of the ideas I used seemed to be capturing what I want to happen in this space. But today, I hit on it: Recipe in a Bottle.

Just like an SOS, recipes are about survival, about getting something into the world when you, perhaps, aren’t feeling the most confident about. But the stakes are too high not to do it, which is the same.

I’m also wanting to talk about the ways that recipes connect us, even if strangers give them to us. I am trying to send out messages to all the new family I gained last year, but also to family and friends that I’ve lost touch with over the years, and now to all the bloggers and internet-friends I haven’t met yet!

This makes me wonder: what do recipes mean for you? Are they a way to connect, like they are for me, or are the something else?

(I swear, I am cooking, I just need to work on a few things and I will start posting actual recipes again. Thanks for the patience!)

 

19 comments on “Recipe in a Bottle – Finally, a Name!

  1. I love baking too and this is a great name. I just uploaded a muffin recipe a while ago!

    Like

  2. Great name! I love recipes but see them more as inspiration rather than the law. Which is probably why I’m not a very good baker…

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I love this name! It’s catchy! πŸ™‚

    Like

  4. Rice N Dine says:

    Recipe in a Bottle sounds good! As well as your beautiful explanation for it. Keep blogging! πŸ™‚

    Like

  5. I like the name too, because I think recipes are very much a way to connect to others. Years ago, I bought an old Betty Crocker cookbook at a garage sale. It had belonged to the grandmother of a family I knew and I bought it because it was the same cookbook my mother had received as a wedding present — and one of the books I had learned to cook with. What a treasure it was! Filled with additional handwritten recipes, as well as recipes clipped out of decades-old newspapers and off of flour and sugar bags. I loved it, and yet, when my own father passed away, I realized that I couldn’t keep that cookbook. That it belonged with the original owner’s grandchildren, as a most precious connection to her. And so … I found them and although they seemed somewhat confused that I wanted them to have the cookbook back, they accepted it. I’d like to think that, in time, they too will realize how special it is. Love this project– keep blogging!

    Liked by 1 person

    • This is beautiful. So sweet of you to give the cookbook back.

      Like

    • This is such a wonderful present! Lately I’ve been thinking about how gifts can be kind of empty these days (buy something new, give it, done done done) and such a gift may take years to appreciate but is so valuable! You sent recipes in a bottle out and someday the right grandchild will cherish them. πŸ™‚

      Like

  6. Love the name! I definitely agree that recipes connect us. Food is such a trigger for memories too and it’s great to share those memories. I just made a recipe that I had eaten when I studied in Chile 9 years ago and it brought back such wonderful memories. Can’t wait to read your recipes!

    Like

  7. OOOh, what did you make from Chile? If it is that chicken stew you just posted about, I might try it some time and link back to you with the results in my blog. πŸ™‚

    Like

  8. Kathleen L. says:

    I love the name!

    For me, sharing recipes lets me share my love of food with others. And I love how certain recipes bring back wonderful memories of times spent with loved ones who are no longer with me. My parents were both great cooks and making dishes that they used to make brings me right back to my childhood.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Sara says:

    Recipe in a Bottle! Loved this name. It’s very catchy!

    Liked by 1 person

  10. lilliesgirl says:

    I agree that good recipes are more than paper and print deep, especially if they come to you via a special relationship. I have recipes from a Grandmother I didn’t get to know personally, but who I’ve heard about in detail – especially about her hundreds of pies baked for charity during the Great Depression. Her handwritten pie recipes handed down through my Mom to me are links that bind me to a bygone era of my own heritage. I and my family can share Nanny’s pies with her, and celebrate a bond that transcends time.

    Like

  11. lilliesgirl says:

    Oh, and Recipe in a Bottle is cute and catchy – great choice!

    Like

Leave a Reply

