Sister’s Gouda and Butternut Squash Casserole

So the main stop on my road trip this summer has been to visit my sister, and last night, she cooked for us! I realized that I appreciate more than ever the space of my own kitchen, and it has translated into giving my sister space to cook the way she wants. She cooks like a person who works in a real kitchen: quick and high-heat and occasionally messy but always producing stunning food.

She made us a variation on this recipe: https://www.blueapron.com/recipes/baked-butternut-squash-gouda-pasta-with-brussels-sprouts-chestnut-breadcrumbs which she got from her Blue Apron subscription. With us, she substituted a few things: chestnuts were replaced with slivered almonds, the spice blend was her own (lots of rosemary and garlic), and there were no brussel sprouts. I know someday I will grow up enough to like brussel sprouts, but this day was not that day.

The result was a brimming full casserole dish with truly wonderful, grown-up macaroni-and-cheese feel: it had sweet bits with the squash, savory gouda and parmesan, and just the right crunch with the almonds. If I made it, I’d probably have done a little more sauce so it could fill each rigatoni tube, but honestly, her way was healthier so I should probably stick with her genius.

Watching my sister cook made me realize how far I’ve come: my sister has been interested in high quality cooking for a long time, but my experience with it is still new; these six months of blogging have taught me a lot though! I’m pretty excited to be rounding the bend on half a year cooking and blogging, and it’s neat to measure myself against someone whose cooking will always be better than mine, but who I now can almost keep up with in terms of knowledge of techniques, even if my results will always be less magical (at least a little bit). I am definitely trying this at home though!

 

5 comments on “Sister’s Gouda and Butternut Squash Casserole

  1. Phenixtail says:

    Hmm… it seems tasty.
    Glad you want to take your “hobby” to a higher quality!
    Best wishes!

    Like

  2. jpeters6248 says:

    That sounds delicious (even with the brussels sprouts). Your blog is beautiful. Congrats on 6 months of blogging!!! From what I can see you’ve created something worth reading and seeing.

    Like

  3. Rebekah says:

    This sounds amazing. Gouda plus butternut squash? How can you go wrong??

    Like

  4. yapplebee says:

    I never liked brussels sprouts until I tried them roasted — this recipe is super easy. http://www.theppk.com/2008/02/brussel-sprouts-the-vegan-french-fry/

    They are so popular right now in Los Angeles that I’m glad I got into them or I’d be missing out on great versions at lots of restaurants!

    Like

  5. […] long long ago, when my sister made me Sister’s Gouda and Butternut Squash Casserole? Well, I finally tried making something similar but with ingredients from my beloved garden and my […]

    Like

Leave a Reply

