61. N’s Buffalo Cauliflower Balls

N’s post on her own blog about these buffalo cauliflower balls was the first brainchild for the meatball/”meatball” party. I am not the world’s biggest fan of veggies, and I really cannot do cauliflower; conversely, I would eat macaroni and cheese for every meal if such an option would not quickly make me a very ill woman. So when she described these cauliflower balls this way, I knew I had to try them: “They are so creamy that it’s unbelievable that these contain no cheese! In fact, the only dairy is a tablespoon of unsalted butter. That’s pure cauliflower power. I never want to stop eating these.

So basically, the party and all the prep and all the other people invited? Yeah, just an excuse for me to get N to make me cauliflower that tastes like macaroni and cheese. She delivered; while I wouldn’t ever compare them to the artery clogging goodness that is Kraft blue box, these were super delicious and far and away the best preparation of cauliflower I’ve ever had. It’s very impressive that they contain no cheese; my friend M and I once tried to make a flour-less pizza crust that was made with cauliflower, but the real base for the recipe was cheese, so it was hardly healthier unless you were just trying to go gluten-free.

I think the combination of flavors was on point as well, because cauliflower on its own is  so relentlessly bland that it needed something spicy to make you forget steamed cauliflower. N more than achieved that and created a delicious reason for a dinner party. 🙂 The original recipe was from The Almond Eater, so props go to her as well – wonderful!

One comment on “61. N’s Buffalo Cauliflower Balls

  1. Linda says:

    Have you ever tried roasted cauliflower? I think that’s the first way I touched cauliflower since I was very little but I am now a big fan. Just oil and salt – pepper if you feel so inclined – and high temperature. Yum!

    Like

Leave a Reply

