A’s Gazpacho and Spain’s Salmorejo

I remember hearing about gazpacho when I was a kid; I thought most foods I had never tried were gross, but the idea of a cold soup was just nasty. I couldn’t imagine something savory tasting good all blended up and not even warm. If Young Me had received A’s gazpacho recipe tucked into her sweet wedding gift of a beautiful recipe book, I would not have been nearly so grateful as I am now.

My first cold soup was at a restaurant called La Soberbia in Madrid, Spain – my friend S had been living in Madrid for a year and she said their “salmorejo” was to die for. Sure enough, a big beautiful bowl of creamy red soup with a dash of olive oil and a sprinkling of hard boiled egg bits arrived, and it was wonderful. Salmorejo is different from gazpacho in that there is bread blended up with it, giving it more thickness and flavor of a cream-based soup, while gazpacho is almost like a savory smoothie, thin and veggie-packed.

I had been saving tomatoes for a few days and decided to try out this wonderful recipe, and it didn’t disappoint. I think gazpacho is wonderful for a night when you are sick of salads but don’t want to “cook” per se, rather want a cold meal that doesn’t get the house all heated up. This recipe is from a distant relative of my husband who is not Spanish, as far as I know, but the flavor reminds me of the kick of gazpacho in Spain, which is a wonderful memory to share across totally different experiences.

 

Penney’s Gaspacho (given to me by A)

Blend 4 tomatoes, 1.5 cucumbers, 1 clove of garlic, 1 onion, and 1 small green or red pepper. Then add one can chicken broth, 1/4 cup of olive oil, 2 tablespoons wine vinegar, sugar, pepper, and salt and cilantro to taste. 

10 comments on “A’s Gazpacho and Spain’s Salmorejo

  1. Kim Smyth says:

    Sounds DELISH, I will give it a try!

    Like

  2. I drink gazpacho almost everyday!!! I just love it!!! Easy to make and drink

    Like

  3. ggstratton says:

    Gazpacho is on my list of things to try….I have avoided it too because cold soup just didn’t sound good. Guess its time to try it. I keep hearing how wonderful it is.

    Like

  4. thetwisted1 says:

    Gazpacho is a summer must for me (reminds me of when I visited Spain too). It’s kinda weird, but Dr. Oz’s recipe for it has been my favorite so far. Yours looks simple and delish too, I must try it!

    Like

  5. Susanne says:

    I like the idea of blending bread in with the other gazpacho ingredients. I’ve never tried that but can imagine it would be a more filling soup.

    Like

  6. mackmarie says:

    That recipe looks a lot easier than I expected! YUM! I must try!

    Like

  7. sjschen says:

    Any recipe that require only ingredients and blender will also be a hit 🙂 I like!

    Like

  8. Elune says:

    Thank you for following me! I was looking for a gazpacho recipe ever since I first tasted it in Seville, Spain. I will try out your recipe! 🙂

    Like

  9. Oh this sounds lovely! Thanks for sharing 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

