Crichton’s Spanakopita

I finally bought fillo dough this weekend, which meant trying out a recipe sent to me: https://crichtonscoop.wordpress.com/2016/06/13/i-span-so-far-away/. The author sent me a lovely description of what it means to them:

“It’s a spanakopita recipe. It reminds me of Christmas because of the dill smell but also my husband’s aunty makes a version of it every particular year for Christmas. I like recipes that revolve around family or remind you of good family times.
It also can be portioned and frozen and then it serves as an easy tasty mid week meal when you are too tired to cook during the working week.
Enjoy :)” 

Honestly, I would love cheese and dill and spinach any time of the day or night, but this is even better as something easy to heat-and-eat at lunch time. I thawed my fillo dough and set to work mixing all the delicious spinach, spices, and cheese together to make that creamy mixture. I thinned mine out with some plain yogurt, which while not in the recipe, seemed in the spirit of the whole mix. Then came the fun part: rarely does cooking feel like construction or craft time, but layering dough with spinach mixture does! Also, always lots of butter for construction “glue” and also for later deliciousness.

The final product was not very thick (I blame my impulse to thin out the sauce), but was crisp on top and smooth in the middle. It started out sort of chewy and hard to cut, but by the next day it was much easier to eat – the dough layers had almost turned to pasta-consistency which meant it felt a bit like an ultra-thin spinach lasagna. I know I should savor every moment, but this was a wonderful thing to be able to cut out a slice and eat cold while running around doing things to get ready for the week; I hope to soon be able to make it for others to share, like your Christmas time memory.

9 comments on “Crichton’s Spanakopita

  1. Eva says:

    I love this! Thank for sharing!!

    Like

  2. foodinbooks says:

    Filo dough is so wonderful and versatile, isn’t it? Baklava, spanakopita, kreatopita……..sweet and savory both can be used with this dough. If you want another cooking idea, you can try this recipe I did a couple of months back.

    https://foodinbooks.com/2016/05/23/corellis-mandolin-by-louis-de-bernieres/

    Like

  3. Kathryn H. says:

    I love spanikopita! In our family, making spanikopita is an Easter tradition. We also ordered it from the caterer for my sister’s wedding reception. It helps to have two people working together, so that one can butter the phyllo sheets while the other helps to separate them and keep a very slightly moist towel on the sheets you’re not using yet. Four hands for this process really helps!

    Like

  4. Kathryn says:

    I love spanikopita! In our family, making spanikopita is an Easter tradition. We also ordered it from the caterer for my sister’s wedding reception. It helps to have a couple people working together with the phyllo. Four hands make it easier to separate the sheets while one person butters them, and the other can keep a very slightly damp towel on the sheets you aren’t using yet. It really helps!

    Like

  5. Thanks for recreating the recipe and the lovely comments 🙂

    Like

  6. amusingword says:

    My husband is 1/4 Greek and he won’t touch spinach! I’d love to try making this.

    Like

  7. My daddy was Greek and I grew up on this! I’m definitely going to try this recipe. Thank you!

    Like

  8. LB says:

    The layers of your spanikopita look wonderful – that phyllo looks perfectly flaky! I grew up going to greek diners, and this looks absolutely divine. Thank you!

    Like

Leave a Reply

