Fillo Dough Days: Chocolate fillo pastry!

So, a delightful blogger sent me this beautiful recipe, which is simple, elegant, and by all accounts perfect. She said her husband, who doesn’t even like desserts, liked this one. So what did I do? I took some similar component parts and cooked something… weird.

I have a talent for baklava, so I got overconfident and thought “I’ll make a chocolate treat out of flat sheets of fillo dough!” Note to self forever: if the recipe calls for little fillo cups, use those! It’s a tart, not a flat dish.

So I mixed up a similar mixture to the one in her recipe (I used coconut milk, which maybe was my downfall? I’m still unsure). What came out was not firm like the pretty mousse she created, but instead a semi-viscous liquid… it tasted great, but it would not hold up like a normal pudding.

Undaunted, I used the mixture and butter and huge sheets of fillo dough and constructed a… something. I cooked it (not part of her recipe, but definitely a must for my thin gooey sheets of dough), and in the end, I had something chewy on the edges and soft in the middle. It was definitely chocolate-flavored, and like the spanakopita I made recently, the middle sheets of dough became somewhat like pasta, which gave the whole thing a bit more body than it had otherwise. I have no idea what to compare it to besides jello, but it was like very thin, chocolate flavored jello.

All this to say: don’t try to mess with desserts! They are so much more calibrated than, like, a recipe for stir-fry. Instead, I recommend you follow this recipe to the letter, and enjoy the adorable little fillo cups she created. They look like they’d be epic for a party, bite-sized!

15 comments on “Fillo Dough Days: Chocolate fillo pastry!

  1. lifeofskip says:

    Hey, thanks for the follow! Love the concept behind this blog, and I love that you’re so honest about your kitchen experiments. I constantly want to improvise myself and have so many failed kitchen experiments… Haha

    Like

  2. Thanks for sharing my recipe and trying to recreate. I made this one in a flash and may even do it again this weekend.
    Any other bloggers, feel free to contact me or share or even if you like, let me know if you like to be a Guest Blogger

    Like

  3. foodinbooks says:

    Looks delicious, and the tips and technique are very helpful, as well. Always enjoy reading your posts!

    Like

  4. mackmarie says:

    Hehe, this is too funny. Do you have a baklava recipe you particularly like? I love it, but I have heard it’s super hard to make!

    Like

  5. Lauren Essie says:

    Ha, I love seeing someone post about a fail! My whole blog started up because I was so sick of seeing perfect cooks and perfect kitchens in every blog; we all have fails like this… All in the name of experimentation I say!

    Like

  6. Love your blog. Looking forward to more tips 🙂

    Like

  7. randyjw says:

    I think it sounds like a great idea, anyways!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

