A Day of Plenty: Harvesting Squash and Tomatoes

Husband has been pushing patience at me, because online I read that for butternut squash to be ready to harvest, you have to wait until the stem had died a little; that’s the only time when it’s truly done with nutrients. He said to wait to harvest ours until that ripeness level.

However… they’ve been that creamy orange color that indicates ripeness for more than a week now! I harvested our first two, one that weighed 2 pounds and one that topped out at almost 5, and I set about preparing the first for roasting. As soon as I cut into it, a sweet smell and a bunch of water came out – it was the juiciest butternut squash ever! I was quite sticky-fingered by the time I finished cleaning it out, cutting it up and getting it into the oven, but so happy. And glad that, this time anyway, my haste was alright. I’ll wait longer for the other, because it will take me a while to process the 5 pound squash.

Also, our tomato jungle is so dense that it’s hard to reach the back rows, which are up against the neighbor’s fence. Yesterday, I braved the spiders and the mosquitos to get in and get all the hard-t0-reach tomatoes, yielding me about 25 cherry tomatoes and 15 of the San Marzanos. I’ve found that my friends J, S, and B love cherry tomatoes so I’m not freezing any more of those, but for now, my plan is to keep freezing San Marzanos until I have enough pounds to merit a day of canning. I know I don’t need to try canning, but I think it’ll be fun. I’ll bug a friend or two to help me, and we’ll make sure we have the tools we need, and everyone will go home with jars of tomato sauce (simple sauce, with plenty of lemon juice to keep it acidified against botulism!). I’m rather excited.

Finally, I had given up entirely on our pepper plants, but two lovely things happened: the only pepper plant I knew of now has 3 teeny tiny peppers on it, so I’m hoping for lots of sun and rain to get those swelled up and beautiful, and there are at least another 10 flowers that I can dream about turning into bell peppers. Also, I noticed a very small plant with the same kind of leaves as the pepper, which I hope means we’ve got another, late-bloomer pepper emerging. Last year, Husband moved into the house in September and was pulling peppers into early October, so I am hopeful that we’ll have a long, luxurious harvest. It’s not orderly and perfect, but just dragging in the bowl of tomatoes every day gives me more joy than I ever thought raising a little bit of food could.

IMG_4518

8 comments on “A Day of Plenty: Harvesting Squash and Tomatoes

  1. foodinbooks says:

    How wonderful to have your own produce and cook straight from garden to table. If you do a recipe with your butternut squash, do post if you can!

    Like

  2. What a beauty. Nothing tastes better than food you planted, watered and harvested yourself! Enjoy!!

    Like

  3. Ladybuggz says:

    The best darn Pumpkin Pie I ever made was with my secret ingredient (Butternut Squash)! shhh….Don’t tell anyone! Try it! šŸ™‚ Ladybuggz

    Like

  4. homegrownhoosiers says:

    Wow! Gorgeous squash!

    Like

  5. LB says:

    Nothing tastes better than food you grew yourself! Beautiful squash!

    Like

  6. Iloenchen says:

    Wow, your butternut squash looks amazing. I’ve never tried planting any. My friend has but hers died because our summer was too cold and too rainy, so I’m amazed whenever someone is successful.

    Like

  7. sultanabun says:

    Holy smoke, that’s a biggun’
    I bought a plant which was labelled as a butternut squash but it appears to have identity issues and is growing some fine cucumbers on it. Try again next year!

    Like

Leave a Reply

