Quinoa with sweet tomato, onion, and summer herbs

On Friday, I really traipsed into the thicket of tomatoes in our backyard and emerged with tons – 30 or more cherry and 10 San Marzanos. I want to freeze some to eventually can sauce, but a more pressing need presented itself: my aunt and uncle were coming over for dinner! They are the sweetest folks and one is vegetarian and the other is dairy/gluten free, so quinoa was an obvious option.

I prepared about 1 cup of quinoa according to the directions on the bag, but the long roasting time meant that I did that much later. I started by cutting up the cherry tomatoes and some San Marzanos into the roasting pan pictured. I then sliced and diced one purple onion and 4 cloves of garlic, and added maybe a teaspoon of olive oil to keep it all from sticking. I roasted it at 400 degrees F for 45 minutes.

When they came out, I added cut chives, basil, and oregano – all fresh because I’d gotten packets of fresh herbs from the community garden, and that stuff doesn’t last long! I left the whole roasting pan on the stove to stay toasty while my aunt and uncle got a tour of the house, but then added the hot quinoa to the veggies to mix up together.

We had quite a feast – Husband obviously made a salad, and I whipped up guacamole to make sure that everyone had a hearty enough meal. Afterwards was a gluten-free banana bread that I was pleased with, even though it was drier than I expected; I’ll post about it at some point. But sitting around the table, passing dishes and eating off placemats made me realize how much I missed that. When we’ve had our dinner parties, there have been too many people to sit down to table together, and that makes me think the next dinner “party” will just be, perhaps, 4 other folks. Last night was a less boisterous evening, but I think that the niceness of sharing the bounty of the garden and the chat that we all had about plants and electronic circuits and family history made me miss a regular sit-down dinner with family.

15 comments on “Quinoa with sweet tomato, onion, and summer herbs

  1. […] via Quinoa with sweet tomato, onion, and summer herbs — Recipe in a Bottle […]

    Like

  2. talullah51 says:

    I’m in heaven…tomatoes…one thing I am missing but your photo says it all..have a great day!

    Like

  3. Julie says:

    I grew up having a massive garden and tomatoes were a staple. I adore quinoa. I will be trying this recipe. It looks oh so good!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. This looks delicious! Fresh from your garden, so wonderful!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I envy your garden space! Studio living in Long Beach doesn’t leave me much room to grow anything. I purchased a wall rail system from ikea to hang up a lot of things in my kitchen, and one of the accessories are these adorable bamboo baskets. This post is making me wonder if I could use those baskets to house potted fresh herbs….

    Liked by 2 people

  6. Wonderful recipe for my vegetarian son-thank you!

    Like

  7. foodinbooks says:

    I normally don’t care much for quinoa, but your version looks luscious. I may have to give it a try and rethink my prejudice against it. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Susanne says:

    Sharing food always makes a body happy and who wouldn’t love eating this healthy delicious dish.

    Like

  9. Autumn says:

    Mmmm, that looks like a plate for me please (even though I’ve not long had my dinner, it looks soooo tempting)

    Like

  10. easyeatzblog says:

    Looks gorgeous. Will have a shot at this tomorrow I think!

    Like

  11. I love that sweeter flavour tomatoes take on when roasted. We ate something reminiscent of this last night but served with crispy skinned salmon and roasted paprika potatoes.

    Like

  12. digitalcook says:

    This looks amazing!!! I will definitely try it 🙂

    Like

  13. Tomato is a food that I like. Looks so delicious!

    Like

  14. Olala says:

    It looks amazing! I’m definitely making in during the weekend, thanks for inspiration 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

