Basil/Oregano Mashed Butternut Squash

I’ve become a big fan of dips – give me a variety pack of hummus flavors, or a savory baba ganoush, or a pile of guacamole any day and I’ll lay into it. I wasn’t expecting that butternut squash would make such a fantastic dip, though; rather than a recipe, today I present something I affectionately call a “mess-cipe” – something that easily could have turned out terribly as an experiment in the kitchen but which instead turned out delicious!

I was eager to roast up the butternut squash, so I added basil, oregano, and some last sprigs of rosemary that I had handy but after it finished cooking I kinda… left it in the oven to cool? I went about my afternoon, busy, and then came back to cooled-off, gooey squash. It was easy to separate the chunks from their skin, but then I wasn’t sure what I was going to do with it. My thought was “Pasta sauce,” along the lines of some you might have seen used on “butternut squash mac and cheese.”

I didn’t have a lot of cheese available, but I added cheese and milk, and used the food processor to mix it up. I made Husband a bowl of pasta and covered it in the sauce, which he vouched was sweet but flavorful, a perfectly fine dinner. What I noticed, though, was that since it was all fairly cool, it was really firmer than a sauce… more like a dip.

Instead of serving myself pasta, I dug a tortilla chip into the mixture, and crunched into it… PERFECT. While not a normal dip for tortilla chips, the mixture was too smooth for me to want it on something else soft like pasta, so I got the satisfying crunch and also the yummy flavor of butternut squash. I cannot give you exact measurements, but I definitely recommend that you try something like “mashed butternut squash” and have chips or crackers with it – the flavor is unusual but the texture is perfect for a dip.

12 comments on “Basil/Oregano Mashed Butternut Squash

  1. My oregano is overtaking my herb garden (and my rosemary and basil certainly appear poised for world domination) so I’ve been desperately searching for more oregano recipes! This looks great, and I can’t wait to try it!

    Like

  2. This sounds delicious. Also, is it weird that every time I see you blog name I sing it to the tune of Message in a bottle by The Police? I can’t stop doing it!

    Like

  3. Omg yesss, you should have. I think all your post titles from now on should be The Police song related puns. Maybe branch out into Stings solo work once they’re exhausted. I do love a good pun!

    Like

  4. Tippled Pink says:

    This sounds delicious! Have you tried Yotam Ottolenghi’s Butternut Squash & Tahini spread? I think you’d love it! http://www.ottolenghi.co.uk/butternut-squash-tahini-spread-shop

    Liked by 1 person

  5. veganneeds says:

    awesome!! making this tomorrow 😀

    Like

  6. Yum! That looks delicious 🙂

    Like

  7. I know someone who definitely has to try cooking this…!
    JP

    Like

  8. foodinbooks says:

    Yum! I made something similar, except with sage as the herb flavoring. Yours looks most delicious as well!

    Like

  9. that looks amazing! i need to try this!

    Like

Leave a Reply

