Apple Cake with Strawberries and Walnuts

Some recipes come into your life for no reason at all, at the moment you need them. I’d been trying to find a way to vary our bagel habit, wherein I keep trying to get us to eat something other than bagels with cream cheese for breakfast but we always return to it. So when the recipe for “the best apple cake ever” came up on the internet while I was searching around for food blogs, per usual… it just seemed right.

It has apples, which made me think “sustanence! good for you!” and it has cake, which screams “we’ll actually eat it all!” and it truly delivered. The directions aren’t so difficult to follow, and when I saw that I didn’t have enough raisins, I threw in some slightly-thawed frozen strawberries and it ended up a wonderful combination. The proportions of fruit are good, such that every single bite will have fruit pieces in it and you won’t have to worry about feeling like you are just a person eating cake for breakfast… even though you totally are.

We’ve now eaten much of the cake and the think I like best is that the crustiness of the top has held up – cooking it so long but not at super-high heat allowed it to get really golden and caramelized, but it hasn’t gone soggy in the fridge this week. I bet this same cake structure would hold other fruits… maybe peaches? Regardless, let me know if you have had any luck with easy, quick breakfast foods that you make ahead of time!

The recipe:Β http://cooking.nytimes.com/recipes/7474-teddies-apple-cakeΒ – I will definitely be writing this one out on a card as soon as the crazy beginning-of-school is over and I have a few minutes to do so. πŸ™‚

14 comments on “Apple Cake with Strawberries and Walnuts

  1. Great recipe, thank you πŸ™‚

    Like

  2. dinnerbysusan says:

    I’m a huge fan of cake for breakfast! This looks terrific.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. foodtravelandmakeup.wordpress.com says:

    Looks delish…

    Like

  4. Looks amazing. I’m so excited to see that it’s time for fall cakes! I just made a pumpkin one myself and it just makes me want to get to Fall already!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Ladybuggz says:

    looks great! πŸ™‚

    Like

  6. camsieb says:

    I keep seeing apple cake recipes popping up as well. Must try! How did it taste?

    Like

  7. Looks so good! πŸ™‚

    Like

  8. Great recipe. Thanks for sharing.

    Like

  9. Sabine says:

    summer berries meet autumn harvest – such an unusual combination, looks & sounds delicious!

    Liked by 1 person

  10. […] but E would probably be pretty proud of me. I’ve also been really happy with recipes like the Apple Cake and the Zucchini Bread I’ve made over the past few months, which combine my love of pastry […]

    Like

  11. I have an apple tree that is covered – now I have a great way to put them to work! I wonder if this cake freezes well…

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

