New best bread ever – easy-to-make Peasant Bread

I have unsuccessfully wrestled with many  bread recipes. This one, in particular, may not be the best bread in the world, but it is such a thorough recipe, with such simple ingredients, and such a good chance of success… I’ll say it. It’s my favorite bread recipe ever. And you make it in a BOWL. How cool is that? (pyrex only; something oven safe!)

The recipe is from Alexandra Bakes, and her whole site is basically food blogging goals; check it out here: https://www.alexandracooks.com/2012/11/07/my-mothers-peasant-bread-the-best-easiest-bread-you-will-ever-make/.

The romantic feeling of making your own bread is often undone by the flour everywhere, the stickiness of your fingers when you are kneading, and the sadness of not good rising bread. This bread, by being no-knead, means that one less variable is up to the poor baker (me, in this case), so I was able to see reliable rising and not accidentally leave it too long. I didn’t get big yeast bubbles like so many other people making homemade bread, but I did get airy dough.

I really love the crust that forms from the liberal coating of butter and the use of the bowl as the container for the bread; the amount of dough for me was perfect for my large pyrex bowl. Flipping it out of the bowl was so easy, and the bread is very slicing-friendly so it will be useful for sandwiches…

I’m just basically in love with this bread. I wish I had more of a romantic story about it, but if you have seen any of my sorta-didn’t-rise breads, or the hockey-puck style french bread I made one time, you would understand the sense of triumph I have eating a piece of bread that is actually good the next morning. I made it with one cup of wheat flour to three cups of regular bread flour, which makes it just a tiny bit healthy and slightly earthy/chewy, but mostly it’s just like any bakery-style white bread boule. As long as the yeast actually foams, your bread should be just as good as mine using Alexandra’s recipe!

20 comments on “New best bread ever – easy-to-make Peasant Bread

  1. The bread looks really good!!

    Like

  2. It’s crazy but it’s true – I have never even attempted to bake bread before!!! Do you have a sourdough reciepe?

    Like

  3. Gosh….bread is one of those things I REALLY want to learn to make. I was discouraged by a couple of batches of breadsticks years ago that could be used as weapons to be honest. 😦 Ready to try again though.

    Like

  4. lorriedeck says:

    I love this. I’ll be giving it a try once it cools down here!

    Like

  5. LB says:

    So ready to try making bread. Never did it before.

    Like

  6. Ladybuggz says:

    I’ve gone through 3 or 4 bread machines, and because of food allergies making my own bread is a must…..I think I’ll try this recipe (without butter..I’ll use canola oil). 🙂

    Like

  7. Love this one
    Thank you for following my blog. Hope you find it interesting and like the recipes our members tried and tested.

    Would you be interested to be a Guest poster with us, and share some of your awesome recipes on our blog?

    Have a look at: https://cookandenjoyrecipes.wordpress.com/2016/08/05/fellow-bloggers-sharing-is-caring-recipe-exchange/ and leave me a note in the comments with a link to a recipe on your blog, if you’re interested. That will be just fantastic. Hope to hear from you soon 😊

    Like

  8. Can’t wait to try it!

    Like

  9. I’ve NEVER felt the need to knead. Thanks.
    JP

    Like

  10. Meiji Zapico says:

    Hmm, this looks so good. Maybe I can make this? Lol.

    Like

  11. We just tried this recipe out last night but using bread loaf style pans. So my lunch today was with this bread and it’s fantastic! We are going to try it with a high protein flour next because the girlfriend is all about making sure I get enough protein. But we wanted you to know it was a great recipe and thank you for sharing!

    Like

  12. Ipsita says:

    The bread looks really good..want to try this soon!!!!

    Like

  13. […] Recipeinabottle Easy to make Peasant Bread (and more thoughtful recipes) […]

    Like

  14. randyjw says:

    My favorite food item, and I just can’t really ever seem to get it down pat. My mom used to make great challah, though. I don’t think I’ve ever even had foamy yeast!

    Liked by 1 person

  15. Well I will certainly try this one. I have been baking bread for so long it’s disgusting (me, not the bread) so I try them all.

    Liked by 1 person

  16. Definitely will try it out

    Liked by 1 person

  17. Tabi Bee says:

    This looks delicious-I’d love to try out the recipe 🙂 ❤

    https://busybeeblogweb.wordpress.com

    Liked by 1 person

  18. […] first return to the New best bread ever – easy-to-make Peasant Bread recipe after Whole30 yielded a gorgeous loaf, with all the caramelizing edge of the bowl from the […]

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

