Uexpected Garden Delight: The Squash in a Tree

Today, I share with you the silly story of the butternut squash vine that crawled 20 feet along our fence line and then weaseled its way 7 feet up a tree. The best part? That, of all places, was where it decided toΒ  deposit a new, plump butternut squash. Gardening is full of surprises like this, more unhappy than happy, so I’m pretty thrilled this morning to have squash gently swaying from the branches of the tree in our yard.

How has gardening surprised you lately? I’m intrigued to know if other plants climb trees. πŸ™‚

11 comments on “Uexpected Garden Delight: The Squash in a Tree

  1. annika says:

    Hehe, your story about tree climbing squash baby made me smile πŸ˜€ I can’t wait to have a garden of my own one day to experience such quirks of nature myself πŸ™‚

    Like

  2. […] via Uexpected Garden Delight: The Squash in a Tree β€” Recipe in a Bottle […]

    Like

  3. Rini says:

    It’s always exciting to get surprises in the garden…especially the non-bug/snakes/wild animal type. Lol

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Autumn says:

    Yep! Mine are tree climbers too. Love squashes, they make me smile with their antics. I have also had a pumpkin in my apple tree. A joy to see your pic πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  5. April Tuell says:

    I had a decorative squash on my porch one year, that I threw away at the edge of the woods behind my house, once it became rotten. No one was as surprised as I was, when I seen several of the same squash, hanging from the side of a tree the following summer. When I try to grow squash in my garden, it never does very well. I throw one away, and it grows like wildfire. It did that for 3 years before it finally quit.

    Like

  6. Christina Nifong says:

    HA! No telling where those crazy vines will end up. We had a pumpkin plant this summer that took over the whole backyard. And a gourd once that actually grew in between the slats of our picnic bench!

    Like

  7. […] ΓΌber Uexpected Garden Delight: The Squash in a Tree β€” Recipe in a Bottle […]

    Like

  8. Nature is amazing. I am glad no pests got to it first πŸ™‚

    Like

  9. I had spaghetti squash growing in a fir tree like Christmas decorations one year.

    Like

Leave a Reply

