Piecing together crochet projects… and my days

Does it ever feel nearly impossible to make time for what you care about in a day? I tell myself that what matters is making healthy, inexpensive meals with Husband, working on my crocheting and writing, picking the fruits of the garden, going for runs… and yet I still find myself lounging and watching TV serieses I’ve seen before. You can aspire to “energetic” hobbies and still be seduced by the more lounge-y versions of fun.

I like balance, and I’m learning that as I work on my blanket for my mother-in-law, H. She sent me a picture of the color scheme in her camper, and I found wonderful shades of green, red, and yellow… but the scheme was not complete. I found a perfect sunset-in-the-mountains shade of blue, though, and I think I have what I need. Not only that, but with 4 colors, I can put together a more varied blanket.

It makes me feel like I don’t need to berate myself for lounging, chatting with husband and maybe not getting much done, or taking a long bubble bath when my day doesn’t inspire any yoga or running. It just needs balance – a homecooked stir fry tonight and a take-out pizza tomorrow. 🙂 The little hexagons of this project are perfect because they don’t take long to make, and even though the blanket takes a long time to complete, I can see myself progressing, feeling the present that I want to create for H taking shape.

I have had a lot of phases in my life that were too short to feel like I ever got to the point where I had some balance; I moved on too quickly to something new that needed a new kind of balance. With married life, I’m really attempting it, though down the road work or moving or family could really shake up my plans again. What do you do to balance your day, to work hard and also to find your peace?

17 comments on “Piecing together crochet projects… and my days

  1. Thank you for sharing this lovely post! I relate so much to what you wrote. I have lofty goals of being super productive and accomplishing all these great things in as short a time span as possible, but then sometimes it’s just really nice to lounge in front of YouTube and not think or do anything. I try to find more balance by keeping a detailed journal of how I’ve spent my day, so that I can look back to learn lessons about time management.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Journals are a great idea. My grandmother taught me how to crochet but I never pursued it-got hooked on needlepoint. Ugh. I’m sure it will turn out beautiful. Post a pic when you are finished. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Mary says:

    I agree, balance is so important! I think it’s when life gets into ruts that time slips by so quickly we don’t even notice it. Balancing new and exciting with familiar and routine helps us pay attention and enjoy the days and moments as we’re living them. I like to: try new recipes, go for walks/bike rides, do crafty things, or find new adventures or places to explore to keep the weekends something to anticipate.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Crafts are so much fun.!
    Your representation is to die for.! ❤
    Do read my post on PINK and let me know your views.!
    https://thesunshinetiara.wordpress.com/2016/09/19/lets-paint-the-world-pink/

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Sonali@foodtravelandmakeup says:

    Beautiful piece of art and so meaningful words… 😃

    Like

  6. I know exactly how you feel about balance. I’ve had times in my life where everything was so hideously lopsided and out of balance that I had to make a concerted effort to reconstruct my life. Keep up your lovely writing

    Liked by 1 person

  7. i really like your posts. They are simple, humble, truthful, nothing showy. I like crocheting too. Please keep sharing your projects. We also feel the share of love you show and experience yourself by making priceless gifts.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. aikopup says:

    I love your post. I feel the same way allot. Being a housewife you think I would have all the time in the world to finish projects or even start one. By the end of the day from bill paying and doctors appointments for my son and all of the in betweens there is no room left for me at the end of the day. Just wind up catching up on shows that we like just to have a moment of peace. I really love the combo of colors of the yarn. You did a great job!

    Liked by 1 person

  9. arlingwoman says:

    It’s good you’re thinking about this–and nice to be reminded that I should be more intentional about it as well. It’s possible to shape your days and order them, but it’s also possible to let it fall apart for a while. Then you have to get back to a balance. Keep trying.

    Liked by 1 person

  10. sultanabun says:

    I’m longing to make a hexagon blanket but I wonder if they will be torturous to stitch together!

    Liked by 1 person

  11. yummyfairy says:

    I really liked this post and I feel the same. I always think I can get through the day with my children and spend the evening doing something for me but I usually end up watching the television. Maybe that’s ok sometimes though. I try to find motivation to do more creative things and your post is great for that, thank you.

    Liked by 1 person

  12. I think it’s an endless quest! But sometimes easier than others. I love your crochet hexies 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  13. waymom says:

    I love your crochet project! Your mother in law will be so happy. Balance is a booger. I only allow myself to binge watch my favorite documentary series while crocheting, if that at all helps. I just stream it on my laptop–I’ve completed 7 projects while watching Tudor Monastery Farm series, which was amazing by the way :p.

    Liked by 1 person

  14. Ladybuggz says:

    I’ve Nominated you for ” One Lovely Blog Award” you don’t need to accept but if you do, please go to my site and read all about it and the rules! Cheers! LB, (T.) 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  15. whatsmyt says:

    I know what you mean! I love crochet, but haven’t done it in months, I have fabric that I cut out a pant pattern on just sitting there for over a year waiting for me to sew it together.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

