Breaks from Cooking, and My Favorite blog

One of the times I’m my most silent is when I’m sitting in front of a fire, looking at the flames and maybe listening to others chatter, but just being there myself. It’s a time when I’m not doing much: no cooking, no cleaning, no working, no commuting. The fire puts my mind into an in-between state, where I’m neither trying to move on to another activity nor recovering from the last one. These moments give me the rare chance to think about my big-picture life, not just what’s next.

One of the blogs that inspires me most is zenhabits.net – it’s run by a man named Leo Babauta and his insight on how we create habits for ourselves is usually uncomfortably familiar. He recently posted about having a flexible mind, and I felt how much the past month or so has made my mind inflexible. I want so badly for things to go correctly, I’ve allowed myself to fall into a rut of disappointment and annoyance whenever they don’t. Whereas I should be able to try something newΒ and laugh at the resulting mess, I too often spiral into thinking that I’m a terrible cook or writer or teacher, just because I cannot do it well the first time. His blog does something that I think much good writing should do: it should make people feel understood and give them a way to move forward.

I have noticed that while I still post recipes, pictures of food, and memories of food with family and friends, I’m also posting more and more things about life habits – they are so important to me. As an adult, I don’t have teachers imposing deadlines and parents imposing goals, but I still want to see myself as a growing, changing person who is capable of better skills, better habits. One thing, for example, is that I have gotten lazy about eating salads, and they are so easy to tack on to another meal and get more greens into one’s diet. I’m trying to do that more for the upcoming month of October. Another is to make sure I take pictures both when I’m cooking and when Husband cooks, because both of us have great food to contribute to this blog. Small goals, small changes to my occasionally-inflexible mind, but hopefully they will have long-lasting impacts.

17 comments on “Breaks from Cooking, and My Favorite blog

  1. Become More Healthy Blog says:

    I believe the Buddhists call this “practicing non-doing.”

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Become More Healthy Blog says:

    Reblogged this on Become More Healthy Blog and commented:
    More people should do this, once in a while!
    Re-charge the batteries, as they say!

    Liked by 3 people

  3. “Another is to make sure I take pictures both when I’m cooking and when Husband cooks, because both of us have great food to contribute to this blog. ” I loved this πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  4. autistsix says:

    Hi I have nominated you for The 3 days 3 Quotes challenge if you want to take part here is the link:
    https://autistsix.com/2016/09/28/3-days-3-quotes-challenge-day-1/
    And good luck with the healthy changes!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I loved this article…awesome keep it up.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. pardecar says:

    I resonated with your pots. And thanks for the link!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Elizabeth says:

    I think food and life are closely intermingled, and reflections on one naturally bring up thoughts on the other. Keep writing.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Mel & Suan says:

    As travel addicts, could not agree more. Food is one way to tease out local culture, engage in a hearty conversation about taste, aroma, sight… we love these conversations with people from around the world, perhaps the way to a person’s heart is via the stomach?

    Liked by 1 person

  9. ” looking at the flames and maybe listening to others chatter, but just being there myself”

    Yep, it has a curious impact on human beings. The caveman is still in us.

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Marsha says:

    We teachers are goal oriented. We have to be. When we don’t reach them, we get disappointed. As you know, it’s human. The wonderful thing about being human is that we can choose how long to wallow. It sounds like you are making amazing choices. BTW, thanks for stopping by my blog and following. I’m honored. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Thinking ‘big picture life’ = worth a new habit.

    Liked by 1 person

  12. prior.. says:

    thanks for the blog share – I am going to check it out –
    and cheers to the quiet calm with a nice outdoor fire…
    πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  13. Jack Crispy says:

    Thanks for the follow! I hope you enjoy reading my posts! πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

