A Sweet Reminder to Move a Little Slower

When my back was turned (probably getting more coffee), Husband turned the rest of my breakfast cinnamon roll into a little snail! We chatted fondly about a snail I kept as a pet in college – he didn’t do much but when you put spinach in his cage, he ever-so-slowly pounced on it. I am looking at a few days of slightly less work and commitments than I have had since school began, and I’m looking forward to taking a deep breath and “thinking snail” instead of being so frantic. Also, cinnamon rolls are delicious; if you have a good recipe for making them from scratch, Husband and I will be delighted. I’ve been trying to eat reasonable portions so these small, store-bought rolls were good; my homemade ones tend to mushroom and become cinnamon loaves.

17 comments on “A Sweet Reminder to Move a Little Slower

  1. Kim Smyth says:

    Awwww, he’s a keeper that hubby of yours! How thoughtful and cute!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. We sure do enjoy cinnamon rolls and even better when they are the size of a loaf of bread, lol.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Elizabeth says:

    I see the wrapper! Did you get that satisfying whomp on the counter?😍

    Liked by 2 people

  4. quirknjive says:

    Yum! Who doesn’t love a cinnamon loaf? LOL! Here’s to “thinking snail.” Besides, how can we truly enjoy the taste of good food when there’s no time to sit down to a proper meal?

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I have a recipe for cinnamon buns somewhere. As soon as I locate it I’ll send it to you. It’s been a while since I made them but they were really good!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Mel & Suan says:

    I’m preparing breakfast, well brunch now for the wife. Its her off day today!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Meiji Zapico says:

    That’s so sweet of your husband, and I’m glad that you’re choosing to be more like a snail now. Even though I don’t know the extent of your frustrations, it sounds to me that that little snail reminder could really help you lots, and that’s wonderful to hear. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  8. The idea of a snail slowly pouncing on some spinach made my morning. How cute!

    Liked by 1 person

  9. calypte says:

    That’s just adorable! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  10. King Arthur Flour has several great cinnamon roll recipes, but portion control isn’t one of them lol 😋

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Sweet in so many ways.

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Him says:

    These take longer than whacking a tube on the counter, but they’re worth the effort.
    http://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/alton-brown/overnight-cinnamon-rolls-recipe.html

    Liked by 1 person

  13. Linda says:

    Hey! We make cinnamon rolls every New Year’s morning and eat them while we watch the annual New Year’s Concert in Vienna (one of my husband’s family traditions). I tried to find a link to the recipe I use but (without looking too extensively) I can’t find the same one – Betty Crocker, 1989 cookbook. Here’s mine:

    DOUGH
    1 pkg yeast
    1/2 cup each warm water, warm milk
    1/3 cup sugar
    1/3 cup butter
    1 tsp salt
    1 egg
    3 1/2 to 4 cups all purpose flour
    FILLING
    2 Tbl butter, softened
    14 cup sugar
    2 tsp cinnamon
    GLAZE
    Mix 1 cup powdered sugar, 1 Tbl mil and 1/2 tsp vanilla until smooth.

    Dissolve yeast in warm water. Stir in milk, sugar, butters, salt, egg and 2 cups of flour. Beat until smooth. Stir in enough remaining flour to make the dough easy to handle. Knead until smooth (about 5 min). – I have at this point covered the dough and left it overnight in the refrigerator to get a quicker start the next day. It works well for me. – Cover and let rise until double (1 1/2 hrs). Punch down.

    Flatten half the dough into a rectangle on lightly floured surface. Spread with softened butter. Mix sugar and cinnamon and sprinkle on top. Roll up tightly, beginning on the long side. Pinch edges to seal. Cut into nine 1 1/2 in. slice and place slightly apart in greased square pan ( 9x9x2)OR greased muffin cups (hmmm. Never tried that.) Let rise until double (40 min).

    Bake 375 until golden, about 25-30 min. Spread rolls with glaze while warm. Eat immediately!!

    Liked by 1 person

  14. prior.. says:

    the snail cin roll brought a smile.
    and I have never heard of anyone with a pet snail – wow – and side note, I just read an article about some snails are huge carriers of parasites – and esp. with Hawaiian produce – and then saw on this show where a teen got a parasite from some beets that were not washed enough. anyhow, we also use the term “move at a snail’s pace” when cleansing the human body because it takes time – so much time and going super slow is optimal – and we say “do no harm” – but the go at a snail’s pace is a special point.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

