Fried Green Tomatoes… Messy Goodness

I don’t like having gunk all over my fingers, but there are circumstances that call for it. Fried green tomatoes are now one of those reasons.

My friend C counseled me on how to use all the beautiful green tomatoes I had still in my garden – it’s frustrating that as soon as they ripen up, I have to snatch them up or risk disease or pests getting them. Green tomatoes, on the other hand, are often beautifully firm and shiny and I was itching to try eating them. C mentioned that a simple egg wash, a dry coating of corn meal and flour mixed together, and a quick dip in some hot oil would yield a tasty treat, so I tried it! It got my fingers quite messy, but I still vote for it!

I started by mixing corn flour (not corn meal, but I think they’d be even more crunchy if I had used that) and regular flour with some salt, pepper, garlic, and a little paprika. In a separate bowl, I mixed a little milk and an egg (I had to replenish with a second egg; you guys know I’m terrible with proportions). I then sliced all my green San Marzanos length wise; I wanted larger surface area to coat because my tomatoes are pretty petite to begin with. They took three dips (dry, wet, dry) while I heated up a quarter inch of canola oil in a big frying pan. It was more than just a coating on the bottom, but not enough to float the tomatoes. Once it was nice and hot (medium-high), I put the coated tomatoes in to sizzle.

While I would recommend doing this with a friend, Husband was busy working on our monthly budget at the kitchen table while I scrambled to have enough hands: I was cutting and breading more tomatoes, flipping the cooking ones once they turned brown, pulling the finished tomatoes out onto a plate with paper towel on it, and seasoning them with more garlic and pepper, all while accidentally getting goo on my fingers and having to wash it away. That being said, this is a delightfully active cooking experience; no set-it-and-forget-it. The tomatoes fry quickly and I had to adjust the temperature of the oil just to keep up.

What resulted was firm and tangy but mostly just tasted like fried batter – i.e. wonderful. Husband dipped his in Frank’s red hot sauce, and I made a garlicky, peppery mayonnaise for dipping. I want to say I ate something else for dinner, but let’s be real – this is all I had. High marks!img_4806

26 comments on “Fried Green Tomatoes… Messy Goodness

  1. This…. is my favorite!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Okoto Enigma says:

    This looks so good😍😍😍

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Taureenia says:

    I’ve always wanted to try these! Ever since the movie lol

    Liked by 1 person

  4. camsieb says:

    This sounds like a great idea!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Ah. I have yet to venture into this ingredient that is green tomatoes. Thank you for the recipe. Will have to try.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. tcriggs says:

    One of my favorite summer treats! My mom used to pick tomatoes green and sit them in the kitchen window to ripen.

    I do the same thing, mix cornmeal and plain flour (half/half) in a bowl, add pepper, salt, and garlic powder. I don’t use an egg wash though. I slice the tomatoes and leave them set in a bowl of cold water while the oil heats up. Then, I take them out one by one and put them into the bowl of cornmeal mix and shake it around and flip it to coat. No need for egg. It holds together just as well.

    Love the idea of paprika! I will try that next time! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  7. theurbenlife says:

    Yum, I love fried green tomatoes! Might have to try this out soon 😉

    Like

  8. Love fried green tomatoes! With or without dip, I could eat a plateful of em!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  9. nancyruth says:

    I just made some too. Definitely messy fingers. But yummy!

    Liked by 1 person

  10. harrietday98 says:

    These look lovely, I will definitely be trying these!!!
    https://harrietday.wordpress.com/

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Mel & Suan says:

    Nice! If I hadn’t looked at the title of the post, I thought it was green peppers.

    Liked by 1 person

  12. kristy says:

    looove fried green tomatoes! thanks for the reminder : )

    Liked by 1 person

  13. Kate says:

    Fried green tomatoes are the best! Southern cooking at its finest. For any vegetarians/vegans out there- you can mix water/cornstarch to do the same thing as an egg wash. Throw it in the liquid, then move it over to the cornmeal/flour bit. Oh, and your husband must be awesome – I use Frank’s Red Hot on my fried tomatoes too and it is SOOO good. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  14. Kate says:

    Oh, a traditional dip to go with them is remoulade. But as someone else said- they’re good with or without dip!

    Liked by 1 person

  15. looks soooo good…….

    Liked by 1 person

  16. Christina Nifong says:

    Fried green tomatoes are one of my favorites. There’s a reason they’re a Southern staple!

    Liked by 1 person

  17. Never had this before. Can’t wait to try!

    Liked by 1 person

  18. Ladybuggz says:

    I’ve always made green tomatoe relish with all my extra’s, yum! Fried green ones are great also!

    Liked by 1 person

  19. mattmusk says:

    Never tried these before…must say your post has kick started my craving. I hope to make these soon!

    Liked by 1 person

  20. Konstancja says:

    These look yummy! I remember seeing the movie “fried green tomatoes” when I was little and when I traveled to New Orleans I was obsessed to try them! Unfortunately, it’s hard to get green tomatoes where I live 😦 XO

    Liked by 1 person

  21. spearfruit says:

    Yes, fried green tomatoes – yummy! Thank you for following my blog, I will certainly take time to visit yours as well. I hope you have a happy day! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  22. I have never tried this! Sound interesting!

    Liked by 1 person

  23. Rainy Sunday says:

    I love fried green tomatoes. You did the same spice mix I usually use, though I’ll sometimes make a sweet version with just a little brown sugar in with the corn meal and flour. Another thing you can do with green tomatoes is pickles!

    Liked by 2 people

  24. Never tried this before, and I have a few on the vine that may not make it to red. I’m keeping this in mind!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

