Roasted Garlic and Tomato Farro!

I have had a bag of farro in my cupboard for a long time – it’s an “ancient grain” that lives in the same aisle of the grocery store as the rice and quinoa. It has a lot of fiber and protein, and was a favorite of my grad school buddy M, who was vegetarian and always looking for something hearty to supplement his diet. I made one farro salad for a party, but I still have community-garden garlic and the last dregs of the tomato plants, so I thought I’d try this out. I got inspired by this recipe I found on Pinterest, which seemed to mix some of my favorite earthiest flavors and obviously, this blog has been all tomatoes all the time lately.

The key, I realized, was that if my tomatoes were already swimming in water (last canned batch of tomatoes had a lot of excess liquid), I might as well prepare the farro in the tomato juices, rather than separately in water. It worked like a charm – I prepared the farro in the juices according to the directions on the farro package, and soon I had big, thick kernels that looked a bit like that cereal “sugar smacks” if you remember it from your childhood. My grandfather ate it all the time, which was definitely not as healthy as eating farro but does make me endeared to the idea.

In the end, just a little garlic and salt were all the chewy kernels and various-sized tomatoes needed. I used it alongside a shrimp scampi I’ll post later, but it didn’t need oil or a lot of fancy spicing – the combination of home canned tomatoes and the nuttiness of the farro were enough to be one of those dishes that are simple without being bland. Not to mention, surprisingly filling: I didn’t have to layer on the scampi sauce to fill like I was getting a whole meal when I used this as a base instead of pasta.

16 comments on “Roasted Garlic and Tomato Farro!

  1. tcriggs says:

    I haven’t tried farro yet! It looks tasty! I’m looking for something other than quinoa (which is great, but gets old after a while). I will have to try farro now. Thanks for the tips. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. […] Source: Roasted Garlic and Tomato Farro! […]

    Liked by 1 person

  3. veronika176 says:

    I’ve never heard of farro but it looks delicious.

    Liked by 2 people

  4. Peter S says:

    We just bought some farro recently and I’ve been looking for more recipes, Thanks!

    Liked by 2 people

  5. Taureenia says:

    Sounds good, I was just thinking of preparing something hearty soon. I’ll have to give it a try!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Elizabeth says:

    Thanks. I have tried quinoa, though not a real fan. This looks intriquing.

    Liked by 2 people

  7. Mel & Suan says:

    Wow the Farro looked less like the wheat species it is classed under. Looks more like barley!
    Ok, another super food to be tried!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Farrah says:

    Looks good!!! 🙂

    Like

  9. akmp45 says:

    looks tasty, I’ll save the recipe!Cheers

    Like

  10. […] scampi was served atop the tomato farro I discussed earlier this week, providing a fibrous and tasty base. The excess sauce enriched the […]

    Like

  11. saralakron says:

    Farro is wonderful. I started eating it while traveling in Tuscany but rarely get around to cooking it. Looks like a great recipe!

    Liked by 1 person

  12. heri says:

    Looks tasty ! will have to try it

    Liked by 1 person

  13. callmetrav says:

    Farro is a great substitute for rice. I love the texture. It’d amazing in oatmeal aswell.

    Like

Leave a Reply

