You Can Do it, Dinner Party Newbie.

There are so many easy reasons not to have dinner parties. Restaurants are prettier, cooking by yourself is cheaper, seeing your friends when you see them is more convenient, planning nothing at all is less stressful, but let me tell you: I’m ready to advocate the dinner party, even after the messiness, the expense, the lack of convenience, and the stress. I have good reasons too.

  1. Doing hard things builds character

I have now had three dinner parties this year, but at least two other potential parties I chickened out of throwing because I worried the people wouldn’t get along or wouldn’t like the food. Every time I go through with it, though, I think I get a little more convinced that it’s worth it to try something a little against-the-grain and have people into your home. It’s quite the act of trust, but it seems to pay such good dividends.

2. If you love cooking, you will never have a better excuse to make LOTS of food

3. People you would never imagine liking each other will manage to make it work over a big plate of food.

4. People feel more connected to you, even if they don’t know you well, if they’ve spent the evening sitting by your fireplace and chatting.

5. We’ve lost the art of in-person conversation as a main form of entertainment, and it needs to come back: it’s free, it’s fascinating, and it makes us better at all kinds of other things!

6. People notice so many fewer of the things you see as imperfect in your house and notice so much more of the detailed touches of architecture or decoration than you’d expect – they take in the good and tend to ignore the bad (we all have it, so it’s less interesting!).

7. Your board games need a chance to come out and play.

I know I won’t convince everyone, but I think trying it once is worth it – if you discover I’m wrong on every count, at least now you have the worst-dinner-party-ever story to tell at… well, some event. I don’t think you’ll regret it though!

14 comments on “You Can Do it, Dinner Party Newbie.

  1. sudustories says:

    Hi ,its nice to have family n friends over for dinner. Mostly our cousins are in and out all the time. After a good eat we play card games ,usually confidence and go to bed by 5:30 next morning..πŸ˜ƒ
    Please do try Indian cooking next time

    Liked by 1 person

  2. People scare me!! LOL. Not really, but I am a loner.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Mel & Suan says:

    When we have friends over, wine flows along with the conversations, food is consumed along with humour. Wonderful to do more often than we currently do!

    Liked by 2 people

  4. I agree with Mel & Susan! You cannot forget the wine flow! As an Italian, you can imagine how much I put out when I have the girls over or during the holidays. My girlfriends and I usually do a pot luck. Everyone brings an app and a bottle of wine.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. heri says:

    An idea: ask people to bring a dish and dessert. Make things easier for everyone πŸ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Love this! Ever since I moved out of my parents house I always wanted to host a dinner party and this post definitely adds to why I need to get one in the works soon! That’s a great point that it builds character.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. I’m encouraged by this to give it a go, until I remember the one from years ago that out me off. Two guests did not get on at all, and the stony silence was difficult to break. I think they both left thinking what on earth possessed us to invite the other.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. helenwelsh18 says:

    I’m glad you blogged this. I take it for granted that I do dinner parties regularly, but then when I come to think of it, maybe it’s been a while … I like your comment ‘it’s quite the act of trust’ – it’s true – you need to expose yourself a bit, which can be risky. And isn’t it great when people invite you back? Such a treat, and the food is the smaller part of it. Good luck with your events.

    Liked by 2 people

  9. Def tough to overcome the anxiety that comes with planning and dinner party and wanting to make everything perfect and magazine-worthy-esque! It’s refreshing to see good reasoning behind the quality time dinner parties have to offer over all the fluff!

    Like

  10. mrdodd says:

    Nothing better than good food, good wine, and good food. I’ve tried to take a tip from one of my favorite celebrity chefs Rick Bayless and incorporate my guests with some of the cooking. Just be ready to laugh and have fun.

    Like

  11. callmetrav says:

    I love your reasons.

    Like

  12. intrepid8 says:

    I love your enthusiasm over this subject. I love to host dinner parties too.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

