15. C’s Jalapeño Cheese Dip (repost)

jalapenodipOne of the dinner party recipes, which appeals to me in my current state because I’m hungry and I miss spicy cheese. It’s a pretty constant state of missing spicy cheese – I first discovered queso at a great burrito joint in my college town, and had a standing weekly date with an old friend to complain about life while dunking chips there… mmm. C’s recipe took me back.

C, like Jalapeño Popper Dip, is more than meets the eye. She’s quiet, a studious member of the classes I’ve taken with her, and thus the more clueless members of the class don’t get to see her sense of humor, her wide ranging knowledge of topics of all kinds, or her intense observation of human nature. She once told me that in a class she would watch my facial expressions change and laugh at me; this is a person who knows what’s going on.

Jalapeno Popper Dip looks like a vat of cheese – nothing wrong with that. However, inside, it’s got corn and spicy pepper bites, turkey bacon and a creamy blend of cheeses that make it perfect for right-before-dinner noshing. We dug in almost immediately, a crowd of hungry guests who wanted to wait for everyone to arrive before beginning the plate-filling in earnest. As a person who regularly longs for queso because of a few summers spent working in Texas, I crunched my way through a slew of tortilla chips covered in this stuff. It was nicely serendipitous: one moment, I’d get only creaminess, the next, a fiery bit of pepper. C also keeps me guessing: I like hearing her take on things because I cannot predict it. I hope to share spicy cheese with her many times in the future.

http://allrecipes.com/recipe/238668/jalapeno-popper-dip-with-bacon/?lnkid=fb1506

6 comments on “15. C’s Jalapeño Cheese Dip (repost)

  1. […] via 15. C’s Jalapeño Cheese Dip (repost) — Recipe in a Bottle […]

    Liked by 2 people

  2. The dip looks good. Thanks for sharing!

    Liked by 3 people

  3. Love spicy food. I will have to try to re-create this.

    Liked by 2 people

  4. Mariel Tan says:

    Looks yummy! I am now craving for a cheese dip 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

  5. adele miner says:

    This looks so good, dips like this are my favourite! Your posts are always so lovely, keep doing what you do pretty lady! x

    adelelydia.blogspot.com

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

