Food Memory: Vegetarian Soul Food

foodmemory10

Vegetarian food has always intrigued me, but I think of it as cool and light, watery and crunch. I didn’t think, when I thought vegetarian, of ooey-gooey macaroni and cheese, of rich falafel patties, or spicy peanut sauce all over my broccoli. In Georgia, though, even the vegetarian places can make a veggie plate look like a pile of soul food. I loved the vibe of this restaurant, where there were many mainstays on the menu but a ton of people just ordered off the chalkboard full of today’s “veggies” for the veggie plate – clearly, if mac and cheese is a vegetable, I’m going to be happy eating my soul food meat-free.

 

7 comments on “Food Memory: Vegetarian Soul Food

  1. Nicely presented and we can taste it through your description.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Mmmm… looks delicious. I sometimes get that impression from vegetarian food too, but I had the BEST veggie burger in Charlotte NC; made in-house, with avocado, an egg on top, and some kind of chipotle-ranch dressing on it. Soooo yummy.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I’m not a vegetarian/vegan, but I’ve never hated the food either. This looks really good!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Anne Wondrs says:

    I really wish all vegetarian foods are more accessible and affordable in my country. Pete knows I am so tired of fastfood and stuff.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. V.M.Sang says:

    Sounds great. I could turn vegetarian if it’s all like this!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Vegetarian food can be prepared in many different ways by people willing to explore.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. That plate looks amazing!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

