Pistachio Crusted Salmon

We were craving crunch – something that I think is pretty common on Whole30. I think for long stretches of time about the combination of soft and crispy that bread does so well and so few other foods can imitate. Even crispy cooked cheese compares… but we cannot have that either!

So when we got some salmon fillets on sale (check your grocery store – we were surprised by how reasonable they were frozen!), I looked up recipes that used nuts as a “crust” on salmon. I already knew I liked salmon pretty much just with lemon, salt, and pepper, so I had a feeling this would be a decadent and wonderful dish. I drew on this recipe, but I think that almost any herbs, oils, and nuts would make a savory and crunchy crust.

Husband and I felt like we were in a fancy restaurant, and I realized that the portions that we have been eating – one or two veggies in substantial quantity, a small amount of really good meat, and maybe a sparkling water to drink – are so much like restaurant meals. Sure, we don’t fill up on bread and butter, and there’s no dessert, but the food we eat this month is high quality.

I’ve been really thinking about how to incorporate what we’ve learned into our daily life after this month, and I’ve realized that I love having these rules to keep me in check. I know I can change them whenever I want, but I think I want to still have intense rules. Maybe I’ll reincorporate honey, or beans, or something, but I want to save the most craved foods for really special occasions. How do you keep your appetites for unhealthy foods in check enough to really savor the best things? I’m certainly still learning.

5 comments on “Pistachio Crusted Salmon

  1. piratepatty says:

    I have done pecan encrusted salmon but never pistachio. I bet it was really good! Thanks for sharing this idea!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. KR says:

    Good idea! Thank you 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. When you figure it out, let me know! My problem is that the unhealthy foods still feel like the ‘best’ things. It is my scale that disagrees! My brain is one stubborn organ.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Meg says:

    Tried this Friday night – delicious!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Looks good. I’ve put Panko on salmon for crunch. I have to try it with nuts.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

