49. Crockpot Pork Chops with Rhubarb, Peppers, and Onion

A while back, when I asked for crockpot recipes, I got the wonderful suggestion from The Wiser Shopper (click here for the recipe!) to make Pork chops with apples and onions based on a Martha Stewart recipe. The idea sounds like one of my favorite combinations of sweet and savory, so I filed it away as a great option but didn’t remember it until this week.

This week, in particular, I had a lot of leftover rhubarb from the farmer’s market, so I thought I’d adapt the recipe by subbing a little bit of apple sauce and a lot of chopped rhubarb in the recipe. I threw all the other ingredients into the slow cooker for the whole day, and by evening, there was… well, the same brownish stuff that comes out of a lot of slow cooker recipes, but man oh man! When we sat down to eat, it was some kind of delicious.

The pork was moist and the sauce was tart and savory and multi-layered. I fried some homefries to go with it, which turned out to be the perfect contrast to the softness of the meat and veggies, and overall, I was really pleased. I added one other thing, which was a spicy barbeque sauce, a generous glopping on top of the ingredients at the beginning of the process. The spice was essential, because I think the whole thing would have turned out overly sweet otherwise.

Thanks Wise Shopper for sharing your recipe – it made a regular old Monday night extra special and delicious.

3 comments on “49. Crockpot Pork Chops with Rhubarb, Peppers, and Onion

  1. Sissy MacK says:

    Sounds amazing! I’ve been looking for savory ideas to cook with rhubarb.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

