Why Bread?

IMG_4618

My first return to the New best bread ever – easy-to-make Peasant Bread recipe after Whole30 yielded a gorgeous loaf, with all the caramelizing edge of the bowl from the real, non-clarified butter used to make it. I’ve been eating it with goat cheese as my breakfasts and yes, that is the farthest thing from “continuing Whole30” but after today or tomorrow, it will be gone. I’m still figuring out how to do this, you know…

I read an article the other day about how there is a gentleman who bakes lots of bread and gives it out, still warm, to all his neighbors. I feel like this would be my favorite thing; I want to spend a whole day baking, rotating loaves from rising into the oven and wrapping them up and taking them to the people nearby. At the very least, I like bringing a warm loaf to a party, where it can be sliced up and eaten before it even has a chance to get cold (though, truth be told, peasant bread sets up over night and is easier to slice and toast the next day! magic, I tell you.) I know that a lot of folks have been realizing that sugar and gluten are messing with their insides, not really nourishing them, but oh, how I like the way a piece of bread feels. The nourishment is psychological, in this case.

To this end, I’m embarking on an experiment – gulp – I’m going to try to find a gluten-free bread that I enjoy making and eating. Rising is a whole other animal when you are not using wheat flour, but I can work through it, and I’ve got a few bags of “alternative flours” anyway that need to stop gathering dust (or providing dust?) in my cabinets. Wish me luck, and think “peasant bread” thoughts at me, so that maybe my loaves of less-unhealthy breads will be so good that I want to share them too!

This entry was posted in cooking.

6 comments on “Why Bread?

  1. Mala Burt says:

    Your gluten free flours will go rancid in your pantry. They should be kept in the fridge or freezer.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Good luck! I, too am often trying to find the best gluten free alternatives that taste just as good. Sometimes I fail, but sometimes it’s such a wonderful success so sending all my ‘peasant bread’ thoughts your way!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. There used to be a wonderful monthly online chat about bread. There I ‘met’ Chris Stafferton who has produced many, many gluten free recipes and is very knowledgeable. It might help you for your quest http://www.recipesforliving.info/

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Have you tried Einkorn flour yet? It’s not gluten free, but is supposed to be an unadultered wheat and better for you. I’ve been wanting to try it out, but haven’t yet.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

