Cutting Off Anxiety at the Roots (repost)

IMG_4212

This book I’ve been reading, Daring Greatly, talks about two different kinds of stress responses: in one case, people try to manage their circumstances such that all the stress is organized, prioritized, and handled. The other group of people try to seek root causes and remove the problems that cause the stress. The example Brené Brown gives is people who save time at the end of every night and beginning of every day to handle all their unread emails, versus people who make it clear that they may take a while to read emails and delete all unnecessary ones without responses.

I must admit that in everything from cooking to home care to work to gardening, my habit is to try to minimize impact, not eliminate stress from the roots. Something I’ve always felt under my actions was a belief that I should be able to deal with all the things that get thrown at me, and changing the rules of the game (i.e. asking people to email less!) would mean some kind of failure. But I’ve seen how less-stressed people are, and how their lives look more like a celebration than like a failure.

It makes me think that some of the things I need to do in the coming year should have to do with root causes: rather than constantly making time to scramble and cook in the evening, finding a way to enjoy the nights of take-out and also budget weekend time for meal prep. I want to plan our garden ahead of time but also modulate my expectations – we are lucky and our garden is for fun, not for sustenance, so there’s no reason to let it cause me stress. Even little things, like the ways Husband talks about keeping the house neater and more tidy, I need to put in perspective: even he tells me how when he talks about changing our house care, he’s talking about himself doing more, not about me doing more. It’s a good thing to be reminded that some stress is caused by our unrealistic expectations of ourselves, not by externally imposed strain. Now, to remember this next time something doesn’t go my way… It’s always a process!

4 comments on “Cutting Off Anxiety at the Roots (repost)

  1. veronika says:

    Hear hear! We very often bring the stress on ourselves. I will find that book. V

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Diana says:

    That’s a great food for thought! I guess most people feel admitting to having a bit of anxiety is admitting to being a failure.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Wise words, and I’m a fan of Brene Brown. I saw a psychologist for anxiety, and it was a big eye opener when he pointed out how often I said “I should” or “I shouldn’t” about my feelings and actions. I was definitely beating myself up about unrealistic expectations of myself.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. jr cline says:

    I don’t do either well. I go with the flow. I can’t control what happens. I can control my reaction to it. It might take a minute though. I know I can’t pull it out by the roots. Most my stressors are in the present and don’t usually have roots.
    I’m probably missing the point. 😟

    Like

Leave a Reply

