The Break Days in February

Every year does not give me breaks in February, but this year, I needed them. Yesterday, rather than being buried under snow and ice, we had breezy 63 degree weather and sunshine over the river that runs through our small city. We didn’t really need the coats we compulsively put on because it’s February. I saw kids outside in shorts, playing quick pick-up games of soccer and basketball just to get their legs stretched out from the long winter slumber.

I need a break sometimes, and if I don’t take it on purpose my body tends to give it to me – sometimes in the form of a 5 hour long headache where I curl up on the couch and don’t emerge till twilight. In the years of being an adult, I’ve gotten better and worse at listening to my body, but I am starting to really appreciate any day when my body works well, lets me produce the things I need to produce each day, let’s me clean and cook and work and write. I think often of those who are confined to their homes because of long-term illness and I pray that they too have their forms of breaks, because I am often so unkind to myself for my body’s inabilities. We have a lot to learn from the patience of those who have to move slowly by no fault of their own.

When the pain goes away, though, and when the sun breaks through in February, I don’t dwell on the long to-do list that I am now far behind on – I usually revel in the joy of being better, of being warmer. For a few hours yesterday after my headache, Husband and I took a long walk and got meatballs for dinner at an outdoor food truck by the river. I didn’t move quickly because I still felt weak, but every moment that I wasn’t curled up on the couch was a miracle. These rises, these returns, are some of the most pure feelings I ever have.

6 comments on “The Break Days in February

  1. That’s great you were able to get out and enjoy some time with your hubby. I can relate, had a severe headache for a month now, turned into migraine about a week and a half ago. Unrelenting. Glad you got some relief!!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Break time is always so important for so many reasons. Take the time to embrace them as they come upon you before you overstress and something happens to force you to take that break. We are hoping and praying for your strength to come quickly.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Linda says:

    Glad you were able to enjoy the weirdly warm weather. Often you have to force your body to do tasks even when you’re suffering from a killer headache, and sometimes you force yourself because it’s too pleasant a thing to miss. Like a nice walk with the hubby!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. jr cline says:

    It’s great you were able to get out!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. KR says:

    My 24 years old daughter said recently: Mom I tired to be adult…
    And I agree, I am tired, too…

    But one good thing, as You wrote. You know yourself and respect your body wishes and signals.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. alslaff says:

    Just stopped by to thank you for your recent follow on Shift Key and peruse your excellent blog. Your writing style is, well, delicious. Well done. Will be reading more.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

