Eating My Way Through Denver

This conference has been decadent, y’all. I have tried to keep my portions small, but man oh man. My conference friends and I split a pile of crusty bread that was covered in the most amazing roast garlic, olive oil, and tomatoes when we arrived, and it hasn’t stopped. I had a magical panini with spinach and fresh mozzarella and pesto, and when everyone else wanted to get drinks at a trendy little place after a day of learning and presenting, I chose a cup of chocolate mousse instead – it’s just been that kind of beautiful time.

Denver is a city full of pretty areas, and even though there are some standard spots (does every city have a Cheesecake Factory?) I’m thrilled to see restaurants I’ve never seen. Everywhere, there are little touches of great conservation (good public transit, recycling bins) and touches of healthy eating (a whole restaurant devoted to salads, a fresh mediterranean food fast-food joint). I’ve loved my conference so far, but I confess: I keep trying to escape to eat and to explore! I’m drinking a weird concoction – nitro cold brew coffee – as a I blog and plot a trip to a used bookstore before booking it back to the conference.

One of the most special moments was when I was volunteering at registration and idly thumbing through the nametags that hadn’t been handed out yet. I saw a distinctive name and instantly knew it was my friend T, who I was close to 5 years ago in Spain but who I’ve seen only once since then. We haven’t really spoken in 3 years, but I instantly sent her a message to confirm. Sure enough, we were both accidentally in Denver at the same time! We went to a conference session together, got dinner, and caught up on each other’s lives while walking the pretty city. I am so grateful that the world is always smaller than I think it is, and even friends I think are gone can sometimes walk back into your life at the randomest times!

8 comments on “Eating My Way Through Denver

  1. Sounds great! What is the conference you are attending?

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Mel & Suan says:

    Yes those conferences are something heh? Morning tea at 10, lunch, afternoon tea at 3…And so dainty too that the siren call can be mighty hard to resist!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. CMKL says:

    Thank you so much for your interest in my little stories! Much appreciated!!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Elizabeth says:

    I once ran into an old friend at a dreadful conference in Scottsdale, Arizona, and we ducked out and went hiking!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. dragonflyzia says:

    It sounds like you are having so much fun! I love the way you describe food, it makes me wish that I was tasting it too.😊

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I was just there too! We stayed at the Crawford at Union Station. Love Denver!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. alexraphael says:

    You just get food 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  8. jmordars says:

    Nitro cold brew from Corvus?

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment